Won Ton and Leftovers = Amazing Appetizers

I am one of those people that has a terrible fear when I entertain.  I have had this fear for a very long time.  Probably since the first time I invited friends over when I was first out of college.  That fear is, that I am going to run out of food.  I have this tendency to cook so much food that I always wind up with a ton of leftovers.

I love having leftovers but find that they lose their oomph if they are just reheated in the microwave and served.  I love reinventing leftovers into A New Masterpiece.  It is easy, fun and gets my creative culinary juices flowing!

When I opened my fridge on the day after Christmas, it was overflowing with leftovers.  We had Pork, Grouper, Shrimp Bisque, Spinach, Broccoli, Mashed Potatoes and Sweet Potatoes and Gravy.  Honestly, I could have entertained all over again.

We decided it would be a perfect night to have fun appetizers for dinner.

I love using Won Ton Wraps to create fun appetizers and now I had the perfect fillings already in my fridge.

Here is our fun Finger Food Menu:

Pork, Mashed Potatoes and Gravy Cups

Grouper, Sweet Potatoes and Shrimp Bisque Cups

Spinach and Feta Cheese Cups

Broccoli  Cheddar Cheese Cups

 

 

It is so easy to make.  You just use small cupcake pans and insert the Won Ton Wraps in each slot, then fill with your favorite filling and Viola…. you will have Apps that Rock!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Val Sweeney Cathell
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 17:32:14

    You are amazing!!!! Love your ideas Isabel! I do the same thing and overcook like crazy! Same fear of running out…I’ll try this one for sure!

    Reply

  2. lizzie
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 22:11:24

    i’d much rather end up with a fridge full of food than have even one person feel unsatisfied – my husband’s been teasing me about this for years! these won ton cups are a great idea – what temp did you use and how long did you bake these to get them heated through without browning the WT wraps too much? thanks!

    Reply

  3. Angie @ Bigbearswife
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 22:14:51

    oo These look like a perfect Party food

    Reply

  4. Nicole Cook (@DailyDishRecipe)
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 03:56:02

    Isabel, I just love using won tons for all kinds of things. I use them for desserts all the time. (I make a mean Nutella and Banana Wonton) 🙂
    Love your creative leftovers use!
    Happy 2012!

    Reply

  5. Shan@FamilyBringsJoy
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 15:01:38

    WOW! Those look amazing! We will have to try those sometime. 🙂 Happy Tuesday!

    Reply

Leave a comment