I Am Thankful For My Old Shoes

I have always said, “Old Friends are like Old Shoes.”

We spent Thanksgiving Day with two families that we have been friends with for over 16 years.  Like old shoes, they are so comfortable.  There is no break in period, they fit just right.

As I looked  Around the Family Table of 20, it wasn’t the incredible display of food that stood out, it was the Love that was so apparent between us.  We had gathered many generations around this table, Great-Grandparents, Grandparents, Parents, Children, Grandchildren and Great-Grandchildren were together giving Thanks and nurturing our Love and Respect for one another.

I feel blessed to have such long lasting friendships and hope to instill in my children the importance of a true friendships.

So much has changed in the last 16 years, but we know that we are there for each other, because nothing will change our friendship.

This Thanksgiving gave me the opportunity to reflect on how blessed I am to have genuine friends.

I have a tendency to wear my Mom Hat, Wife Hat, Volunteer Hat and Professional Hat on a daily basis.  My Friend Hat needs to be worn more often because there is nothing quite like old friendships…. like old shoes, they fit just right.

“I find friendship to be like wine, raw when new, ripened with age, the true old man’s milk and restorative cordial.”
– Thomas Jefferson

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karriann Graf
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 03:34:29

    Great Post Isabel…..! Yup its nice to have old friends around that just fit right in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

