Sometimes Fast Food is Around the Family Table

Last week I received a phone call from my good friend Lucille. Her son Gregory had another seizure.  Unfortunately for Greg, this time, he had fallen and had to be taken to the hospital to get 9 stitches on his lip and had chipped 2 teeth.   Gregory has a special place in my heart, I have known him since he was a toddler and he is one of those kids that brings so much joy to everyone. Greg, his brother Steven and my son Ronnie were quite a “crew” in their toddler days.  It wasn’t until recently that Greg started having seizures.

As a Mom, my heart broke for my friend Lucille.  I wanted to do something for her, knowing that there really wasn’t anything that I could do to ease her worry.  Being the Foodie that I am and believing  that Food cures all, Chicken Noodle Soup was in order.  But I was having one of those days that I just didn’t have time to make homemade soup.

Deciding that it was much more important for me to be there for a friend, I went through the Chick-Fil-A drive-thru and picked up Chicken Noodle Soup.  I have had their soup before and it is very good.

When I pulled around and saw this sign…. all I could think was…. they just get it!

Everyone knows  that I believe  the most important time you can spend with your family is Around the Family Table.  There are however times that no matter how much we plan, it is just not possible.  Chick-Fil-A has always impressed  me with their Fast Food Choices.  Fruit salad instead of fries, great salads…. and have you tried their carrot raisin salad? Delish!

When I saw that Chick-Fil-A was bringing back the Daddy Daughter Date Night… I realized that Chick Fil-A is a brand that is not only about their own success but also wants to help Families Succeed.  While all Fast Food Restaurants market to families…. Chick-Fil-A found their niche and they do it well.  Think about the lasting memories these Dads and Daughters will have.  They can then pass it down to their daughters…What a great tradition.

I love that while they want us to break bread with them during our busy week, Chick-fil-A is closed on Sundays.  They encourage us to bring back Sunday Supper Around the Family Table.

Food is Love and never miss an opportunity to show someone how much you care about them.

Every busy Mom deserves a night off…. so no recipe with this post.  Instead my kids have rated Chick-Fil-A.

Kid Ratings: Alexandra 10 (it is the only fast food restaurant she eats at), Ronnie 9, Reis 9.5, Riley 8.5

Guest: Gregory 9.5

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee Dobbs - Magnolia Days
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 14:55:46

    Same goes at my house. We have sub sandwich night or go out because I don’t have the time to cook (or don’t want to). The important thing is being there for your family and the people you care for.

    Reply

  2. Gina
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 21:15:35

    I agree…sometimes we just don’t have time (or energy) to get a fully home cooked meal on the table. We have dinner together every night and my Husband loves my visits to Costco because that means Rotisserie Chicken dinner! For $4.99 you can’t beat it! As long as we’re together..it’s meal time!

    Reply

  3. Jim Joseph (@JimJosephExp)
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 22:23:30

    I love how the family table can be anywhere … the point is to be together. Jim.

    Reply

  4. Barbara | Creative Culinary
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 01:21:41

    Chickfila is my one fast food restaurant and I have always loved that they are closed on Sunday. Not loved when I forgot and had a craving for one, but something about that just says something about the company.

    My daughter works for Nordstrom’s in the visual merchandising department which means for most of the year she is styling mannequins and floor displays but for the holidays it means that she and her crew are working long hours getting everything ready for Christmas. But behind the scenes. Though I hate that she does not get to spend Thanksgiving with me, I so love that all their work for months is totally behind the scenes and that Weds night and Thanksgiving Day are devoted to making Christmas happen in their stores the day after Christmas. Not one thing not one day before. That attention to tradition before commerce just makes me glad she is a part of it. And yes, I make sure she and her friends have a great meal waiting when they are done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

