#SundaySupper Progressive Dinner Will Make You Droooool!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have always known that eating Supper Around the Family Table is the best nourishment we can give our families. It is about so much more than just the food that is served.  It is something that the entire family looks forward to. It is about commitment to each other, positive communication and time together. In my heart I know that this is the most important thing I have done for my family.

What I did not realize until recently is how powerful food can be. I have met, connected and shared recipes with an amazing group of people that were brought together by our love for food, family, friendship and mutual respect for each other.

I am honored to say that we are kicking off the first #SundaySupper of 2012 with a Progressive Dinner hosted by some of the most amazing Cooks, Chefs, Moms, Dads, Wine Connoisseurs.   Their recipes and blogs will blow you away!

They have put together the most impressive #SundaySupper that I could ever have imagined!

  • We are starting off our Progressive Dinner Cocktail Hour with Oyster Shooters by my friend Jeff @catholicfoodie ~ www.catholicfoodie.com Seriously, how fun is that! Who wouldn’t want to join us for this Progressive Dinner
  • Valerie @ValerieMCathell  from http://artc1heartnsoul.blogspot.com/ is bringing some amazing appetizers: Prosciutto Puffs & Stuffed Mushrooms…Yum!
  •  Have I mentioned that we have our own wine connoisseur, Eileen @wineeveryday from www.wineeveryday.net  She has a passion and knowledge for wine that is second to none.  Eileen  paired Valerie’s mouth watering appetizers with  Mumm Napa Brut Prestige … What could possibly be better?
  • Sue @ssunithi from http://www.suesnutritionbuzz.com/ is keeping us healthy! I love her recipes and when she decided to contribute her Tuscan Chicken, Bean and Spinach Soup and Eileen paired it with 2010 Rooster Hill Vineyards Medium Sweet Riesling … it truly was a match made in Heaven!
  • Salad time brings us to Renee’s @reneedobbs  www.magnoliadays.com  scrumptious creation of  Pear and Stilton Salad Paired with Perrin Reserve 2010 Cotes du Rhone Blanc.  Renee’s recipes are so inspiring.  I love her photography, creativity and most of all inspiration!
  • I am excited to be bringing the Main Course to our #SundaySupper Progressive Dinner  and am honored to say I am cooking a Rustic Chicken Dish inspired by Mario Battali joining us for #SundaySupper on 12/5/11.  He whipped up and tweeted the most amazing Rustic Chicken….Seriously, who wouldn’t want some?  Click here to see his  #SundaySupper Rustic Chicken . Eileen suggested I pair it with  2009 Annabella Caneros Pinor Noir  
  • And with that yummy Wine Sauce in the Chicken… you need some bread to go along… Luckily Donna @dbcurrie from http://cookistry.blogspot.com/ was baking some fresh Brioche for us… Is there anything better than homemade fresh baked bread….totally drooling!
  • Just when we think we can’t eat another bite… Erin @bigfatbaker http://bigfatbaker.com/blog/ brings us …. Lavender Shortbread Cookies.  Not only is Erin an amazing baker and cook, she is a student at Purdue.  Her blog is just fabulous and she amazes me with her energy! Eileen suggests we pair the yummy cookies with  Cupcake Prosecco.  What a way to end our meal!
 It is so true that Food brings us together and I am so fortunate to be breaking bread this #SundaySupper Around the Family Table with such a great group!
Join us today and every Sunday as we bring #SundaySupper Around the Family Table to your home!
You can follow our blogs and recipes here:



25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renee Dobbs - Magnolia Days
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 12:40:23

    Thank you so much for your kind words Isabel. You have inspired me many times with your love of food and family. I just wish we could all be enjoying these delicious courses together around our family table instead of virtually.

    Reply

  2. Wine Everyday
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:02:15

    The menu and the wine line up are spectacular!

    Moreover, the tradition of the family dinner table is one that (hopefully) will live forever in my family. Coming together for more than food; but for good company and conversation as well!

    I’m very much looking forward to preparing all these recipes!
    Cheers!

    Reply

  3. Karen Baglin
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:16:14

    Awesome idea & post Isabel:) I agree with Renee, it would be magnificent to do something like this ‘in real life!’ Thanks for sharing all of these great recipes.

    Reply

    • Family Foodie
      Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:21:47

      Karen~ Join us Around the Family Table for #SundaySupper … we will all be drooling together! You have amazing recipes and we would love for you to share them with us!

      Reply

  4. Family Foodie
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 15:19:19

    Renee~I have a feeling that at some point we will meet and break bread in 2012. It is on the top of my goals! I’m thinking Savannah…

    Reply

  5. Angie @ Bigbearswife
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 18:02:34

    mmm that sounds like one amazing sunday supper!

    Reply

  6. Donna @ Cookistry
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 18:07:31

    I’m so pleased to be a part of this. Now I need to go wine shopping!

    Reply

  7. BigFatBaker
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 18:21:20

    Thank you so much for being a leader and motivator to help us get this done! I think it turned out amazing. Everyone’s recipes have me drooling and I bookmarked them all. Not to mention Eileen’s wonderful wine parings. The pinot noir with your chicken and prosecco are calling my name! I hope we can all get together, that would be so fun.

    Reply

  8. Jeff Young
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 20:47:40

    Lots of fun today with this #SundaySupper progressive dinner! Thank you so much, Isabel, for putting this together. You ROCK!

    Reply

  9. Chris @ TheKeenanCookbook
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 23:55:39

    What a great menu line up!

    Reply

  10. NYOA
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 02:00:05

    Wow, this is fabulous! Love the menu! Great dishes… yum
    Not Your Ordinary Agent
    Not Your Ordinary Recipes

    Reply

  11. suesnutritionbuzz
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 00:22:50

    Hi Isabel, firstly Thank You so much for being the BRAIN behind the Progressive Sunday Supper ! It was awesome :) Thanks for the nice mention ! You are a generous and lovely person and am glad to be in your tribe ! love the picture of the rustic chicken and was wondering if I could grab the recipe from somewhere. Maybe I missed it ! It looks just like the kind of dish my family would enjoy :)

    Reply

    • Family Foodie
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 17:18:35

      Sue~Thank you so much for your awesome contribution to #SundaySupper Progressive Dinner. Loved your recipe! I will be posting the #SundaySupper Rustic chicken recipe shortly and will forward to you!

      Reply

  12. Val Sweeney Cathell
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 19:45:31

    Isabel ~ I neglected to leave a comment here Sunday evening, but I did want to say again how much fun I had doing the progressive #SundaySupper with you leading our tribe! I am so looking forward to the February dinner! My brain is “cooking” right now! :-) I would like to recreate the entire meal in my kitchen the next time I entertain…

    Reply

  13. Yuri
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:20:13

    Love the menu! I’ve seen the hashtag on twitter, hope I can join #sundaysupper soon :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

